Archinect
anchor

Please help me choosing undergraduate school...

riley123

Hi, I'm an international student who's choosing between schools. I have moved to the states about 4 years ago and I'm not a permanent resident. So job opportunity is a huge criterion for me when choosing school. Here's a list of schools that I have to decide between. 

1. Cal Poly SLO with about $5,000 merit-scholarship from school and $7,000 from outer source(merit-based). Which will leave about $25,000 a year for me to pay. Cal Poly was my first choice school ever because I feel like that it'll really help me become a good architect. Also, the 4th year out-of-school program that it offers seems to be great. 

2. Pratt Institute with about $18,000 merit-scholarship from the school + $7,000 from outer source(merit-based) = $40,000 for me to pay. But I would love to live in Brooklyn and just embrace city life! Also, some people are telling me that urban setting is essential for architecture major, which I partly agree with.

3. Cornell with a financial aid which costs me about $30,000 a year. And since I'm receiving scholarship from outer source, I think that they'll make me pay $7,000 more when I report it to the school. I know that Cornell is an excellent school with a great program. Also, my parents are telling me that it's crazy not to choose an ivy league school...

4. USC with full-tuition scholarship + $7,000. And I can stay home with my parents. So it's basically free! 

And I have been either waitlisted or not accepted to UCBerkely, UPenn and RISD. 

Also, I'm about 80% sure that I will go for M.Arch2 degree when I graduate. So a part of me is telling me that undergraduate school's reputation does not really matter. But other part of me is saying that it really does...Oh god..Please help me!! I really need some other points of views!

Apr 7, 15 9:40 am
Carrera