Archinect
anchor

USC or SCI-ARC

UnderPressure

I know this is one of those frequent questions, but I still hope to gain some suggestions. I'm torn between the two schools and I'm still waiting for a decision from Cooper Union (which i doubt I'll be able to get in... i mean its 4 %)

Recently I received offers from both sci-arc and USC. I've always wanted to study architecture and I know what pursuing this path will be like (both my parents are architects and I practically grew up in their office). Ever since my latest visit to the states (I'm an international student), USC kind of became my dream school, it has the whole college experience package, whereas sci-arc provides the 'hands-on' rigorous curriculum that I'm extremely interested in but its campus is ..relatively less appealing (from what I've seen on its website. And i heard that its not as 'social' as universities).

Some people say that I should choose SCI-ARC because its 'light year ahead of USC in terms of architecture'. However, on the other hand, many people say that SCI-ARC students have a harder time looking for jobs as graduates. Moreover, as an international student, it bothers me that SCI-ARC doesn't provide dorms.

I'm torn between these two, but I'm still looking forward to an acceptance letter from Cooper Union (which would make it an even harder choice...)

Despite my passion towards architecture, I still hope to take classes in subjects other than architecture , which is something that schools like Cooper Union and Sci-arc might not be able to provide.

So could someone please help me with my decision by listing the pros and cons of some of these schools? If possible it would be great to hear from alumni or current students! Thankssss :)

Mar 29, 15 11:05 pm
arch1997c