Archinect
anchor

pureness in architecture

Liuck

Dear all,

I would like to make some architectural / art related researches on this topic I am not able to define.
white, minimal, pure, sometimes clinical...
These images will tell you more than my own words.
If you have any other reference, essay, book, thought or whatever could help me define this I would be very grateful.

I hope my english is not too bad 
p.s. I am a student in Fine Arts who makes short movies.

Mar 29, 15 9:52 pm

pureness = sterile. okay!

Mar 29, 15 10:09 pm  · 
 · 

Richard Balkins Sir

all of your posts should be so 

succinct or Haiku

Mar 29, 15 10:27 pm  · 
 · 
-------

Doug Wheeler's installation at Venice's Palazzo Grassi might interest you.

Mar 29, 15 10:35 pm  · 
 · 
natematt

So purity only has to do with color? That seems like a questionable conclusion.

Mar 30, 15 12:18 am  · 
 · 
The movie Antiviral has a beautiful white spare office/clinic in its opening scenes. Everything detail considered.
Mar 30, 15 6:49 am  · 
 · 
x-jla

why does white = pure?  its something people just made up at some point.  you should use you brain and challenge that notion.  its too easy to photo white spaces...

Mar 30, 15 9:59 am  · 
 · 
JLC-1

pureness is boring

Mar 30, 15 10:16 am  · 
 · 
mightyaa

Depends on context.  I do car dealerships.  A trend I like is this white canvas building.  The vehicles, the displays, etc. become the focus.

So here's the new Ferrari standard...

Or others.  Saab, Bentley, Porsche, Rolls, etc. are all going for that blank canvas look.  Works well in retail where the product and display is what brings the room to life.

Mar 30, 15 10:37 am  · 
 · 
natematt

But those Ferraris are messing up the pureness!

In all seriousness though, wouldn't something like minimalist concrete buildings be more "pure" ??? I'm not one to think that buildings need to be materially honest, but I think that would align more with the "purity" argument than color. At least in architecture.