Archinect
anchor

M Arch from UO or UIUC?

archi_passion

Hi,

I have a B Arch from India, graduated in 2009. I am deciding between the M Arch programs at the University of Oregon and University of Illinois at Urbana champaign. These are my top two choices mainly because they have programs with a focus on sustainable design, which is my field of interest. I have not been offered scholarships in either of them at present.

I'm looking for information from recent graduates or current students from either of these two universities on the design studios, real-life project exposure during the program, internship opportunities and job prospects after graduation. Any information regarding this will be very useful to help me make an informed decision. 

Thanks!

Mar 27, 15 1:42 pm
SaloniChawla

Hey....I am from also from India. I graduated in 2014. I had applied to UIUC and got the acceptance but no financial aid as of now. I would like to receive the answers as well of the questions you posed above. N do let me know whichever u choose among the two. Apart from the aid from the university, are you looking for scholarships or anything from any external independent foundation?  

Mar 28, 15 2:23 am  · 
 · 
OM..

The design studios at UIUC are in my experience generous. As Master's students you'll be working in the "new" architecture building which is nice, but overheats sometimes. The campus is also pleasant but very much a "college town."

The professional network is very widespread and tends to funnel you to larger, more corporate firms, or service oriented firms. Many of the master's students also did their undergrad there, so it's perhaps a less diverse environment than other graduate programs.