Archinect
anchor

prerequisite course for some M.arch admission

doarch

Dear fellow architect.. Well, I had my bachelor of science in archiecture and wish to apply to some master's programs, however, there are some univ and I think most of them asking for college level physics or calculus.. My undergraduate degree did not provide me with the courses. The M.Arch program tells to at least finish the course before enrollment.. Do many of you had the same situation as mine? The problem is I'm an international student, and do not know the process.. Does it means if I was accepted, I must also apply for summer class? They told me to take the prerequisite in the community college because it's cheaper.. well, does it means I also have to pay lots of things to apply to community college? Do I have enough time to apply for college level course in US while I have to wait for my student visa to come out? Thanks for your help guys.. I'm really confused..

Mar 25, 15 6:12 pm
verticalgaze

Community college is cheaper per unit. Probably around $1000 or so total due to your international status for a typical 3-unit course, maybe 4-5 for these lab-based courses. The thing they might need is placement tests (for calculus certainly) and depending on what school, classes could be very impacted.

There's not much to apply as in fulfilling requirements or anything really strict--you can do it now and as long as there's classes you want in the summer, you can sign up. They'll likely need a bunch of documents though so you'll need to look those up yourself. Deadline for summer short session is usually around May or June so there's still time.

Mar 25, 15 6:26 pm  · 
 · 
archhopeful

You can alternatively take classes online (GSD even has some pre-approved courses listed on their website). Right now I'm enrolled in a Physics course online that was $500 plus some small fee for taking the final exam.

Mar 25, 15 6:46 pm  · 
 · 
doarch