Archinect
anchor

Jobs in an Architecture firm for a Non-Architectural degrees.

Jrog

Hey guys,

I'm looking for some information on jobs that i can fit into for an architectural firm. I have a meeting with a partner to go over how I might be able to help their firm. 

I have a degree in American Studies which is a glorified history degree that has a big focus on writing, critical thinking, and a multitude of not so useful things that are attached with a liberal arts degree. 

I'm sorry if this is the wrong place to ask this but I would appreciate any information you can give me. In any case, thanks for reading this!

Mar 25, 15 5:01 pm
BulgarBlogger

Does the firm have an R&D department? If not, you may be able to help in their Marketing Department with RFP's... or perhaps working in the HR Department... You can also offer to be the firm's go-to guy/gal for their materials library... All of this, of course, will come to a significant indirect employee expense on the part of the firm so you better make sure the investment opportunity somehow pays off for them. 

No offense, but someone like you with your major who suddenly decides to go to work for an architect just sounds desperate for a job and kind of professionally lost... I would do some soul searching and really find out what you want to do with your life. 

Mar 25, 15 7:40 pm  · 
 · 

Architecture firms generally do not hire people outside the architectuere or closely related fields of art, engineering, etc. and those with accounting, business, etc. because that is the kinds of education background that is useful to architectural business.

These general liberal arts degrees are virtually useless on their own in any occupation other than being a teacher, instructor, or professor because the private sector business isn't into such general education subjects.