Archinect
anchor

Interior Design major for an Interior Architecture job?

interiordesignit

Hey everyone! This is my first time posting by the way...I am new!

I am currently a sophomore at my local community college in northern VA. I really would like to pursue a career in interior architecture. However, how difficult or complex would it be to obtain an interior design degree but work my way into interior architecture? Thoughts? Thanks y'all! (I know both a very similar)

Mar 21, 15 6:38 pm
interiordesignit

Any help would be great!! thanks

Mar 21, 15 8:28 pm  · 
 · 

Well, it depends on where you want to end up practicing. Currently, in Oregon, it really doesn't matter but I think if you are seeking to do interior in commercial projects that are exempt from architect licensure, you'll want to seek NCIDQ accredited interior architecture degree but sometimes they might be labeled interior design. In Oregon, you would be titled professionally as interior designers not interior architects because there is no such license at least at this time. In either cases, such degrees may just very well be the same and the education of interior architects and interior design is customarily the same but you may specialize in interiors for building occupancy / space use.

As a building designer, I am also technically an interior designer in what I do. However, it is customarily with exempt buildings but my role can surely extend to non-exempt buildings where the project still is an exempt project. In fact, I do building design, interior design (as interior oriented renovation or restoration projects are in some cases  interior design projects) as well as landscape design (not landscape architecture as there is a license for landscape architecture in Oregon but when involved with exempted buildings but that's another story.