Archinect
anchor

Need help with 'Line types'!

JollyJed

Hey guys!

I am currently studying Architecture at University and have a project that requires me to draw numerous technical drawings on CAD and by hand. I Was taught to use CAD at a very basic level but a portion of the project is graded on using the correct line types and thicknesses which i am unsure on!

Where do i use different thickness lines? i know that things like furniture should be drawn in a thinner line but what about walls or windows? I just need some advice from you guys on when and where i should use these things! 

Another question i have is when do i cut off the stairs? i know there is a cut off point but for the life of me i cannot remember what it is! 

Any advice would be great guys, im trying to get these drawings done but this has thrown a spanner in the works.

Many thanks, Jed.

Mar 13, 15 6:32 pm
JeromeS

Go find a Frank Ching book...

Mar 13, 15 9:51 pm  · 
 · 
JollyJed

Which one would you recommend? considering the fact that i am a beginner :) 

Mar 13, 15 10:08 pm  · 
 · 
Carrera

I used to use heavy lines at edges of materials.... putting a bold line at the outside edge of sections to make them pop and everything inside that perimeter would be lighter, material hatching even lighter, dimensions and notes/leaders medium.... makes them easier to read. With CAD that seems to have gone out the window, but I have seen it.

Assume your question on stairs refers to drawing them in plan, if so floor plans are thought to be cut midway up from the floor... figure out how many stair treads you have and show half.

It's normal on here to make fun of people and tell a joke, just too tired to think of anything, sorry.

Mar 13, 15 11:05 pm  · 
 · 
gruen

I use about 4 or 5 lineweights total. Darkest is for things that are cut through, lightest is for hatches and patterns.