Archinect
anchor

architectural ownership

schatha

I am an Intern Architect and recently did some freelance work for a lady.  The lady found a house plan she liked, bought the CAD file from some architects, and hired me to modify the plan (add a sunroom, change one or two bathroom layouts, move windows around, mirror the plan, change foundation type), work with an engineer to stamp the appropriate drawings, and design a detached garage apartment.  I did not draw up a contract for the work so no clear terms were in place as far as ownership of the drawings.  But everything was fine until....

Her builders built a duplicate house, minus the garage apartment.  Now the lady is trying to sue the builders, saying she had ownership of the design.  The builders say I have rights to the drawings and have offered me a "royalty fee" for the drawings for the second house.  I have refused the fee, as there is ensuing legal action brewing between the builders and the lady, and I would rather not involve myself.  But for my own clarity, did I do the right thing to refuse the money, or should I have accepted the money?

Mar 10, 15 3:17 pm
SneakyPete

What does the contract say?

Mar 10, 15 4:27 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

But for my own clarity, did I do the right thing to refuse the money, or should I have accepted the money?

are you asking from a legal sense, or a moral sense, or an ethical sense?

Mar 10, 15 5:00 pm  · 
 · 

And you still want to be an architect?

Cesspool cleaners wade though less shit than we do.

Mar 10, 15 5:39 pm  · 
 · 
schatha

are you asking from a legal sense, or a moral sense, or an ethical sense?

I'm asking from a legal sense.  I should've said "COULD I have accepted the money?"

Mar 10, 15 5:49 pm  · 
 · 
schatha

What does the contract say?

Unfortunately, there was no contract that's why the idea of "ownership" is unclear.  I know, I know, I should've written something up... I'm still learning how to be an architect.

Mar 10, 15 5:51 pm  · 
 · 
chigurh