Archinect
anchor

Job Offer Dilemma

notgeorgecostanza

Well this is my first time posting, and I'm in quite the conundrum, currently for the past two and a half years have been employed by a firm that specializes in k-12. I've worked on two other projects that have been private hospitality projects however it was more to obtain a permit type of work. Its quite mundane at times and i really would love to get more into designing. Now, i've recieved a job offer from a firm that is about 20 minutes further from where i am currently, my current job is 5 minutes from my house - this allows me to have a wonderful work/live balance. come and go as i please, work late but manage to come home and take a break and spend quality time with my dog ( i am a huge dog person). I absolutely condone having that balance in life. Now, the job offer i recieved is more money, more interesting projects, but longer hours. however im concerned with my area of growth potential if i take the new job. as where i am currently im on track to project manager within the year and also completing my IDP hours within a year and a half. i've really worked very hard to get to where i am and do not want to lose that. the new position i've recieved, is as an 'architectural intern' however certainly not architectural intern pay. its currently a few thousand more than what im currently getting, the 401k is 3% unmatched. im currently getting 4% matched. healthcare is obviously always a huge potential pay cut - which is unknown with the new firm.  and within three months if i prove myself the pay will be a substaintial increase at the new firm. ive done alot of research on linkedin and saw that many people at the new position have left the job all within maybe a year of working there, and im not sure as to why... now should i stay at my current position and allow myself to grow into project management quickly -i  also manage all the new hires where i am currently. or do i pack up and go to the firm with bett