Archinect
anchor

Pursuing LEED Accredidation/LEED Exam

Hello Fellow Archinectors,

I have been working professionally for 2-1/2 years now and given thought to pursue my LEED Accreditation. I've been in contact with USGBC and as told, they recommend that any applicant choosing to pursue should have PRIOR EXPERIENCE on LEED projects, which is crucial to taking the test. This is not so much the case for me, I have no prior project experience on LEED and the current firm I am employed with is not pursuant of any LEED projects (Strictly Retail; I.e. indoor/outdoor malls).

I wanted to seek out the community's advice on taking the LEED exam without any prior experience and knowledge on LEED.

1. Are there any study materials available for purchase? Currently, the exam is based on LEED V4.

2. Should I choose to take the exam, what is the most efficient process to prepare for the exam?

Any and all information would be helpful. Thank you.

Mar 5, 15 12:52 pm
chigurh

from what i can tell, about 99% of people that pass the leed exam have never worked on a leed project or gone through the certification process.

Jul 1, 15 4:20 pm  · 
 · 
shellarchitect

I'm not sure that anyone cares about leed anymore (maybe gov't projects)  I'd focus on IDP and getting licensed

Jul 1, 15 4:32 pm  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger

I think that LEED needs to change. I think PASSIVHAUS is the better system. Additionally, I think the American Licensing process has become too easy... People always respect that which isn't obtained easily.. 

Jul 1, 15 5:14 pm  · 
 · 
chigurh

LEED is a weak ass marketing scheme - 3rd party green building verification.  I'm going to start my own green building verification organization called F-LEED - Future Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design.  

Jul 1, 15 9:18 pm  · 
 · 
gruen

It's been a couple of years, but I swear it was required to have experience on a LEED project before being allowed to test for the LEED AP exam.