Archinect
anchor

Virginia tech VS TAMU VS U Oregon VS USC VS U Miami

I got accepted in these schools except TAMU doesn't got result. Without any funding, I can afford VT, TAMU and UO, others may be a grate financial burden. I'm an international student, considering job opportunity, location and tuition & living expense, I need to know which school is really worth the expense.

I heard VT is some kind of conceptual and UO is very pratical. Anyone has some detail information?

Mar 4, 15 11:18 pm
natematt

Grad or undergrad?

From a quality standpoint I think most people would direct you to VT in either case, even more for grad. That said, the other two seem like decent schools, so I would go with whichever seems most inline with your interests. They are in three distinct areas of the country, so considering which is closer to where you would like to work might be a valuable factor.

Mar 5, 15 12:04 am  · 
 · 
placebeyondthesplines

Why are you waiting until now to seek this information? Why did you apply to any of these schools in the first place? In terms of focus, these schools are all over the place. It seems like you just applied to a bunch of second tier schools hoping you could get in (and with no plan to pay for them). 

That strategy does not bode well for you in graduate school.

Mar 5, 15 12:24 am  · 
 · 

UO isn't entirely practical oriented. It is a design school not a technical school so you'll find a good part on design theory. There are practical sides of things... too!

It is kind of a mix of theory and practical.

This isn't to bad mouth UO. I been there. It is so there isn't a false impression because you'll find some abstract theory oriented courses which might not make much sense in practice when you are taking the courses. 

Mar 5, 15 12:56 am  · 
 · 
110z

Mar 5, 15 1:21 am  · 
 ·