Archinect
anchor

Want to be an Architect

stoetzels

Hello Folks,

This is my first post but I have read this forum many times. I am a 32 year old man living in Toronto, Canada. I have a Bachelor's degree in Supply Chain Management where I currently work in a warehouse for a well known online company with mediocre pay.

I studied and worked full-time, staying with my grandmother, so I don't have any loans. However, I was diagnosed with ADD later in life and spent 8 years in colleges, failing for the most part in my junior courses. When I did get my medication, I excelled in all my courses and the last two years in university had been a breeze as I realized what I was capable of, but since so much time had been taken, I took a 'safe' major for a guaranteed job in Warehouses as I worked in one, and having a bachelor's would give me a leg up.

I had more aspirations such as being an architect but I was pressed under my circumstances and got a job right out of college and have been there ever since. 

Since then I have taken a proactive attitude towards getting into architecture and have studied architecture, borrowing books from the library and going around observing buildings. 

Now, I am frustrated, I think I am too old to be one, I don't really have a portfolio and I will be getting a loan, so I just want some direction from people who are in the business to know if I have a shot or what are my options. Can someone like me, from my warehouse and supply chain mgmt background is someone the schools will consider? If yes, then I am confused as to go into a Master's or a Bachelor (for my dilemma).

I really feel depressed over my decision but it pays the bills but inside me I feel a sense of emptiness as I am not pursuing what I wanted to originally.

Any help or encouragement would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Mar 3, 15 2:41 pm
poop876

Just go pay your fee to become an Associate AIA, slap it after your name and call yourself "Building Designer" and you are done!