Archinect
anchor

Urban Designers

g2244779911223345545

I have a MUP (Masters in Urban Planning) and 5+ years as a transportation planner working plans for on bike lanes, BRT/LRT, ped planning, complete streets, livability, etc...

I'd like to shift from plans to do more design based work, more visioning, more master planning, corridor studies, streetscapes...hence I'm looking into a one year post professional MUD degree. Do you think, from experience, that this will allow me to compete for Urban Design jobs? Seems like job postings for urban designers require either an MUD or LA or sometimes just an MUP.( I'm testing the waters now to see if I can compete w/ my current credentials).

Thoughts? Thanks.

Greg

Mar 1, 15 6:40 pm
Larchinect

I would think a MLA would better complement your MUP. Do you draw? I have a small LA practice. We are pushing to do more streetscape, visioning, and urban design work. We have a few small projects under our belt, but nothing really glamorous yet. 

If you want to do visioning work it helps to be able to communicate well graphically.

Mar 1, 15 7:27 pm  · 
 · 
g2244779911223345545

Out of curiosity, what are your thoughts as to why an MLA who be a better complement? I do not draw, I am pretty advanced in modeling however. Drawing is next in line.

Mar 11, 15 8:36 pm  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

I think what you need is some experience in UD work, as the MUD degree is going to be very theoretical. Speaking of experience, where are you located, and are you looking for work?

Mar 12, 15 2:09 am  · 
 · 
Larchinect

From my experience as a landscape architect, we already do or strive to do the work you mention--visioning, streetscape, corridor plans, etc. I have a bsla and wish I could afford to disappear for a couple years to get a MUP or MUD.