Archinect
anchor

Construction Techniques

LSACan

Currently working on a project that involves the expansion of a primary school located in Leicester (East Midlands) We have been given a budget of £60k-£250k. Its a single storey structure with a mixture of flat and pitched roofs. A general cavity wall was my initial idea however I am not sure on what construction technique I should use. Wood frame? Steel frame e.t.c This construction technique needs to be sustainable and cheap.

I am a Architecture student at the Leicester School Of Architecture and I am working with 13 others students on a live project thus I am still inexperienced :) 

Thank you for your help 

Mar 1, 15 10:42 am

Consulting starts at $350/hr. plus expenses.

Mar 1, 15 11:04 am  · 
 · 
chigurh

In the US, there are specific construction/material requirements dictated by division of the state architect for schools.  Not sure if there is a similar set of rules for schools in the UK, but you should look into it.  Even if there is not, you can just look at a handful of similar projects to see what the precedent it, i.e. all schools are built out of cmu block, it is probably not the cheapest material or construction technique (framed walls) because they want to get some longevity out of the buildings and they have to stand up to some pretty heavy wear and tear. That is a low budget, even for a small project.....

Mar 1, 15 11:06 am  · 
 · 
LSACan

Its a very difficult project to work with, the existing building has a 300mm cavity wall which is the average thickness of a Brick/Insulation/Block/Plasterboard wall in England. We wanted to keep the brick look of the existing building however we are expected to use a cheap construction method. In-situ concrete frames are being avoided as this project is a small scale project and hybrid concrete construction is obviously used for projects that are multiple storeys and need greater support. 

Thank you for the answer!

Mar 1, 15 11:20 am  · 
 · 
Carrera