Archinect
anchor

Architecture thesis ... site selection ... need input ...

architectusman

I am a final year student of B.Arch, my thesis is based on how Architecture has become ocular-centric and the aural sense is being neglected. The program of the building is a Music Institute, as it allows me to explore the aspects in full. The problem i'm facing is how to select a site, what criteria should be met to select an appropriate location for the particular thesis. 

​Please comment on this ... 

Feb 24, 15 8:22 am
curtkram

you could site your project next to a babbling brook.  those have a pleasing sort of aural sense to them.  or you could place your project next to an airport.  those have a negative aural sense you would have to mitigate.

the architecture of aural sense meaning you're going to build high stc walls so one loud musician doesn't screw with another?

Feb 24, 15 10:13 am  · 
 · 
mightyaa

Near natural amphitheaters.  In Colorado, we've got Red Rocks.  Another is just walking around.  Certain areas have wonderful acoustics even in an Urban environment where the local culture, noise, etc. takes on it's own.  Trains or bridges for instance with that repetitive clack can set a beat.  Maybe the roar of a river over a small fall.  You might watch August Rush (it's a good flick anyway) and how that kid uses the sounds he hears to create music to inspire areas that suit your ideas. Since it's theoretical, submersion in water might be something you can work with given it's ability to transmit sound waves.  A big boat and that thump thump of the engine churning is a great noise to me (triggers nice beach vacation memories too).  Also read up on neuroscience and auditory processing to see how it does influence our focus and awareness by stimulating thoughts, memories, etc.