Archinect
anchor

M.Arch at dream school or...

drewdoom

Okay so I will try and make this short and sweet and to the point. I am going to do an M.Arch 3+ program. I am a resident of the state of Arizona. My dream school is University of Oregon (I got in). I don't know the full situation with financial aid yet, but assume I get no aid to U of Oregon or Arizona State (where I did undergrad). Would it make more sense for me to just go to Arizona State with in-state pricing, or make the leap and go to my dream school, the University of Oregon?

I would love any opinions on the matter, as this is going to be a hard choice for me. For what it's worth, my undergraduate major is economics.

Feb 23, 15 1:04 pm
bvega

For what it is worth, here are my two cents.

It really depends on what you want out of life. Im in the same boat at the moment, minus the "dream school". After a lot of thought, I would say that you need to really sit down and think about it for a bit. There is no program in the world that is going to be able to teach you everything you need to know about architecture over the course of 3 years. Don't over burden yourself with huge amounts of debt because that can be a powerful limitation on your future endeavors. However, if [insert school name here] offers something vastly different and superior to what you can get at your local state school, then so be it. You are going to be a graduate student....and every graduate program tailors itself to a certain set of beliefs and education style. Pick the one that best suits you, but still within a reasonable price range. Hope this helps.

Feb 23, 15 1:28 pm  · 
 · 
anaiira

Your undergraduate is in economics...?

1. Can you feasibly afford University of Oregon without financial aid? (i.e., assume something like, $36k/year debt for the next 3.5 years or however much it costs, include interest and repayment plans on loan.)

If yes, pursue your dream.