Archinect
anchor

salary negotiation question

anoarch

Even though I'm happy at my current firm I applied to a new place and was offered the job.

My new title is unlicensed designer 2, though i'll be licensed soon after taking my last exam, hopefully in about a month.  

My questions are:

1. does the aia salary survey include bonuses and OT or are they strictly base salary?

2. Should I negotiate towards the rate of an Architect 2 (72k) or a Designer 2 (62k)?  there is a difference of about $10,000.   Since I'm a Designer 1 at my current firm with a base pay of about 53000 (60 with bonuses and OT) I feel a little intimidated by the possibility of a giant raise.  the new firm also offers OT and bonuses but those amounts are hard to quantify

Thank you!

Feb 17, 15 10:47 pm
anoarch

forgot to add, the firm is mostly engineers w/ only a few architects.  They offer a $2000 raise with the license, So i'm inclined to ask of 70k, which is a big increase for me

Feb 17, 15 10:50 pm  · 
 · 
shellarchitect

im at about the same level with a annual review coming up in a few weeks - let us know how it works out

Feb 18, 15 8:30 am  · 
 · 
empea
Engineering salaries tend to be higher (I've seen anything up to 100% difference for same level experience) so if one of your prospective employers is an engineering firm proper I would ignore the AIA guidelines altogether and find some engineering industry data. Obviously all salaries are base salary, anyone trying to lure you over with promises based in your OT being paid is basically saying you'll be doing a ton of it. Which you may be fine with if it's paid. I w
Feb 18, 15 9:03 am  · 
 · 
empea