Archinect
anchor

Architect for Studio Condo??

melissa809

Hello everyone

I'm new here.  I own a 450 square foot condo in Queens, NYC.  I am an electrician by trade and my family are mostly woodworkers/carpenters..which came in handy when I renovated in 2008.

I watch alot of HGTV...lol...and am pretty satisfied with how I designed and laid out my condo renovation.

However, there are still some things I am not 100 percent happy with.  Also, I just got engaged and my fiancee and I discussed just staying here and hiring a professional to design a  layout for my place that would best suit our needs.

What I would like to know is...would it be an architect that I would need to hire?  a designer?

We deal with architects, engineers, lighting designers as well as general contractors at work, but this is just a small apartment that I need help with a renovation layout AS WELL as a furniture layout and a lighting plan.

Who would I need to hire for this?  And could i get a ballpark figure of what this would cost?

Thanks in advance

Melissa

Feb 17, 15 11:35 am
natematt

You could go either way. The key would be to find someone who has experience doing similar project types, and had a style that you like.

Feb 17, 15 12:19 pm  · 
 · 
melissa809

Which would either be an architect or a designer?  I would also like a set of blueprints by which to do my renovation by.  As far as finishes....I'm guessing that an architect doesn't really deal with this, but a designer does?

Could someone lead me to the right direction as far as a company in the NYC area that might be able to help me?

And how much am I looking at spending for a consultation as well as a set of plans?

Thanks

Melissa

Feb 17, 15 5:30 pm  · 
 · 
Sarah Hamilton

Architects most definitely deal with finishes.

Feb 17, 15 5:54 pm  · 
 · 

1) There are a number of people on this forum who would probably be interested in your project.