Archinect
anchor

Apply M.ARCH II without B.ARCH degree

chelmoso

Hi Guys, 

I have a four-year bachelor degree of  architectural technology (B.Tech)  , and I want to apply for the M.ARCH II program.  I know most of the school website says M.ARCH II (1yr) is for people who already have a B.ARCH degree and M.ARCH I (3yr)  is for people who have a four-year degree in any major.   I've been working in the field for five years and I've finished my IDP.  I already applied to take the ARE exam and the board approved my application. 

My question is, according to my background, can I apply for M. ARCH II?  I don't wanna spend another 3 years in M. ARCH I.  What if I get my license, can I apply for M.ARCH II? 

Feb 14, 15 9:06 pm
natematt

First off, if you have a four year degree in technology or any four year degree in architecture for that matter, then you can’t possibly become licensed in the US, because you don’t have a professional degree yet.

That said.

There are two approaches to M.Arch degrees.

School Approach 1:

- 3-3.5 year degree for anyone with a four year degree of any kind

- 1.5-2 year degree for someone with a four year degree in architectural design, usually a B.S.arch, or B.A.arch

School Approach 2:

- 3-3.5 year professional degree for anyone with a four year degree of any kind

- 1-2 year a post-professional degree for people with a professional degree in architecture, a 5 year BArch.