Archinect
anchor

How Long Before I Leave My Job?

Joe1988

A little background about myself. I am currently an intern at a small firm. I have a masters degree and this is my first job out of school and I've been working here for two years. Over the past 2 years I have been exposed to a lot more then most of people that I graduated with. For a small firm, we tend to do some larger scale projects. Over the past few months I had been debating asking my boss for a raise. A little while back, I was asking my friends at larger firms in town what they were making and it shocked me how underpaid I was. Everyone that I know is making anywhere from $8,000-$10,000 more then I am with benefits, double or more paid time off and have some form of sick leave and retirement. I finally built up the guts to ask my boss for a raise. I think there was some sticker shock because he didn't say much. He asked what my friends in town were making and I broke down firm by firm who was making what and why I felt that I deserved market rate. I felt like we had a good conversation about my future and where the firm was headed... But, I never got a time frame on when I could expect a raise or what it would be. We have landed a fairly large local contract that is set to kick off in the next few months. We are planning on hiring two more people. I don't know what my next move should be. Do I bring it back up or do I freshen up my resume and get some feelers around town? I feel like I should be dealt with first before anyone else is hired and there is no more money to go around.

I would love to hear from anyone that has gone through this or is a managing partner that deals with issues like this. I don't think I am being unreasonable to ask for market rate, especially when other firms in town are hiring.