Archinect
anchor

Working as an architect in the UK

Endar2805

Hello everyone,

I'm new here but I hope you can help me with some information and perhaps lead me to the right path.

Let me give you some background, I am an Israeli architect who is currently living in Copenhagen since my spouse received a postdoc position here a year and a half ago. He is about to finish his postdoc in August and we are starting to explore our options for the future and the Canada and United kingdom are among the options. For this reason, I would like to find out about my chances to work as an architect there and what do i need to do in order to be able to work there.

My first questions are basically about the kind of degree needed to practice architecture? I have a B.arch from Tel-Aviv university which was approved as equivalent to the Danish Master's degree here by the Danish agency for higher education.

Do you have to obtain some sort of license to practice architecture? I have been through the israeli internship process and I hold an Israeli license to practice architecture.

Is there any requirement to being a member of some sort of architects association?

I would appreciate any good tips on where to find the info - there are so many websites and information online and I don't know which is reliable and which is not.

Thanks in advance!
Ofer

Jan 21, 15 11:02 am
Non Sequitur

You cannot simply walk off the plane and practice since minimum education, codes, construction standards and local practices vary greatly. Here is the important information regarding foreign trained licensed architects looking for license in Canada:

http://www.cacb-ccca.ca/index.cfm?Voir=sections&Id=16731&M=3943&Repertoire_No=660386109

It is very unlikely that your current degree meets Canadian accreditation standards without a in-depth analysis but the process to follow is explained on the CACB website. This does not however prevent you from applying to work in Canadian architectural offices.