Archinect
anchor

Should I reinvest my life?

moetmo

I am a 38 year old architect (married, no kids, African descent) working in Marrakech, Morocco (got my masters there as well). Been working for about 9 years and I think I’m getting burned out with the situation, the money is mediocre and the projects are uninteresting. I need a new job or a new career, (I’ve been posting for openings for the last couple of years abroad, but I guess my Moroccan diploma turns potential employers off).

To get to the crux of it, I have an offer of partial tuition fees for a master’s at any London Uni for fall 2015 (Westminster or LondonMet I’m thinking) should I be accepted, to do a Riba Pt.2 It’s technically slightly below the diploma I have currently but in reality better cause it’s a European degree.

Should I

1. Take the offer and toil for two more additional years to get a Riba 2 with the current job climate?
  2. Use the offer to study something else, (which I am open to; Urban planning, Industrial design, or even something with no rapport) with better employment opportunities later
  3. Is it too late for me?

Bounce Ideas…

Jan 20, 15 2:09 pm
chigurh

Use the scholarship to study something else.

Obviously you have been in the trenches long enough to know the field is not for you. School could be fun as a sabbatical type deal, but at the end you would be right back where you started.  

It is not too late, when you figure it out, let the rest of us know the way out.

Good luck. 

Jan 20, 15 2:58 pm  · 
 · 
moetmo

Thx, just weighing the odds. Sounds good

Jan 20, 15 3:38 pm  · 
 · 
Saint in the City

"...money is mediocre and the projects are uninteresting..."    

It's gone global... RUN!

1. no
2. yes
3. no 

Jan 20, 15 4:22 pm  · 
 · 
moetmo

Thx saint. Why do we think that being an architect is a divine duty to humanity? Lol. I have a preliminary list but could u guys propose some alternative studies?

Jan 20, 15 4:42 pm  · 
 · 

Isn't globalization great?