Archinect
anchor

Is it okay to learn CAD on a MacBook Pro? What do most offices run CAD on?

h_arch

Hi all,

I'm an arch student right now and just getting started with an AutoCAD course. I currently have a MacBook Pro, but the instructor recommended getting a PC for CAD. My question for those working is, do most offices run CAD on PCs, or should I learn to do it on my Mac? 

Thank you in advance

Jan 8, 15 12:22 pm
Non Sequitur

PC

Jan 8, 15 12:27 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

my first thought is, if you want to be an architect, focus on learning architecture rather than computers.  if you're focused on software or hardware, might be better to push your life in that direction.

my second though is, get a pc.

most offices use pc's, but not all.  the ones that don't use pc's made a bad decision.  it happens.  that has no bearing on you since you're in school.  whenever you get a real job, you'll have to learn all sorts of standards specific to that firm anyway, so the operating system is a small thing buried in with a bunch of other things.  better to work for a company that's concerned about your interest in architecture rather than your interest in operating systems.

tldr;

do most offices run CAD on PCs, - doesn't matter

should I learn to do it on my Mac? - no, because macs suck

Jan 8, 15 12:30 pm  · 
 · 
h_arch

Thank you, @NonSequitur. 

@curtkram - This is part of the arch program I'm enrolled in...I'm not sure how you gathered I'm more technology driven and should move my life in that direction over a simple question re: a program. 

Jan 8, 15 12:33 pm  · 
 · 
proto

fwiw, i run autocad native on a mac...ymmv

listen to kurtkram's first thought

Jan 8, 15 12:38 pm  · 
 · 
Veuxx
Doesn't matter. Don't overthink it
Jan 8, 15 1:48 pm  · 
 · 
bugsmetoo

It sounds like a basic course so you'll be fine. If the instructor is pestering, just Bootcamp and show the Windows logo on-screen.

Jan 8, 15 1:51 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram