Archinect
anchor

Am I making the best decision by pursuing architecture?

idk2345

I'm a senior high school student from Mexico about to decide on a undergrad career choice. For many years I have wanted to go into architecture and later landscape architecture as a masters degree. I feel a passion for solving many of today's problems creatively through architecture and I find it fascinating how it is an art which using lifeless materials and creativity to embody the values and desires of the architect and of his time and context. I'm however torn because I'm also highly interested and passionate about many other things, mainly cooking and writing and would still like to pursue these as secondary activities. I feel that I can be rewarded (in a creative not monetary way) as an architect, and yes I acknowledge the bleak outlook for the field and the challenges it implies, but I want to make sure that it is the field for me. My plan is to get a bachelor's degree at Universidad Iberoamericana, where Victor Legorreta and Rojkind did bachelors studies. What should your main motivations be if you want to study architecture? How were you sure that this was the field that was going to be the most rewarding for you? 

Jan 6, 15 5:33 pm
chigurh

I'm going to give you some really good advice and come across as a real dickhead:

Don't go into this field.  

If you have other creative interests, you would be better served pursuing those areas of study.  

Architecture is a bitch of a profession, 1% of your time is dedicated to creativity the other 99% is bullshit.  

You will thank me in 10 years.  

Jan 6, 15 6:55 pm  · 
 · 
DeTwan

lol, that was awesome. Your post has the implications of a Kevin Smith film underlining the zeitgeist of American culture.

Please tell me that your narcissistic rant was a joke and your really aren't that big of a douche.