Archinect
anchor

Should I search for new internship?

CLOCLO

Hello,

I'm a 3rd year student and have been interning at a small firm for the past year and a half, working full time during the summer/winter breaks and part time during the school year. The office I work at is small and I've been able to easily interact with all members of the team. I've learned a great deal of how the office is run and what the professional world is all about. This firm seems to like me very much and have said that to want to hire me full time once I've completed school. My pay has been above average compared to other students my age interning. So far I've mainly been working on schematic design and then handing the schematics off to other architects in the office to develop them into CDs and deal with CA.  

However, this has been the only place I have worked. When I first begun school I had always imagined myself getting different internships each summer, getting experience working for construction firms or larger architecture firms or even the government. I've also seemed to have created a niche for myself where I work as I've only been working on SD since I began so I've become pretty efficient at it. However, I want to learn and do more. Eventually I see myself becoming a project manager and want to begin doing what I have to in order to achieve that goal.

Is working at the same place for a long time in the beginning of one's career a good idea? Or should I go out and see what else is out there in order to gain perspective and other skills? Or is it better to stay at a relatively small firm, work my way up through the ranks, and build a history with them with the eventual hope of securing myself a long term job?

Dec 31, 14 10:31 pm
accesskb

You could ask them for other responsibilities. 

One advice I got from a prof during graduation was to switch firms every 3 years early on in your career. :)

Jan 1, 15 2:59 am  · 
 · 
anonitect