Archinect
anchor

Business School student switching in Architecture

Susan.wg

Dear all, 

I am currently in my third year of business school and after some soul searching, I realized that I regret the fact that I chose business school over architecture when I had the chance (got accepted by both programs). I chose business school because I thought I would major in Accounting, however, few semesters down the line, I realized that I would be dong a general business degree, with different minors in Finance, HR, Strategy. Basically, my degree will be vague and nothing as specialized and stable as Accounting, which is the reason why originally I chose b-school over architecture, Now, is there a way that I could do a master or certificate in Architecture after graduating from B-School? I know that a combination of business and Architecture is great, though the more classic way is Architecture undergrad then MBA. Thank you guys in advance for your feedback! It would be so much appreciated.

Dec 29, 14 11:47 am

Architecture? Why? Architects don't make any money? There isn't any real business.

To answer your question, you would have to take a 3 year (roughly) Masters in architecture. The question I have with you is, why in the world are you considering architecture? It is a total waste of time. People never pay you what you want. They never pay you what you are worth. They never pay you period. You ask for more than $500 or $1000 to design and they won't even consider paying you. They think you are charging too much money. After all, they think, it's just a 2-3 hour sketch. Why should I pay you more than $500 for one day's 5-10 hours of work? They literally think you already have a catalog of buildings or homes. After all, home design for example is pre-designed. 

the question then is with a totally broken business economy that has 100 times as many people offering architectural/building design or design/build services than there is projects.