Archinect
anchor

Unemployed for family reasons.

g00017023

I graduated in 2009. I couldn't work immediately because of bad economy at that time and increased pressure from family of recommending me not to start work life and just get married. I resisted and freelanced for two years. Eventually got married in 2011. Have a 6 month kid now and expecting another in 6 months. But during all this I have realized architecture was indeed my true passion and couldn't pursue it due to multiple reasons. I still miss that culture, being independent. My husband is a doctor and wants me to shift to Pakistan which has very little opportunity for new and design oriented architects. Or I can choose to stay in Dubai with my parents and look for work here. I have the option of hiring a nanny and look after the kids. Just feel so divided over moving to Pakistan and accepting another 5 years of not working and depending on husband vs staying here and looking for work. I need opinions from people who have young families. 

Dec 21, 14 3:28 am
uh huh

The very reason family pressure is at the bottom list of my priorities. My parents expects me to hunt down a wealthy boyfriend, get married, get them grandchildren, and tells me of such dreams all the time. Too bad I just let them talk and not going to follow any of it. 

Some of my young professors are doing just that, hiring a nanny, but their marriage partners are also sacrificing some, to equally share the child-caring duties. 

Dec 21, 14 4:38 am  · 
 · 
chigurh

I feel for ya...it has gotta be so hard to be a woman in architecture for so many reasons, family being top of the list.  

I have young kids and my wife works part-time, around 20 hours a week, and she takes care of the kids a bunch....way more than I can given that I work full time +, and have a commute.  It also sounds like you might be from a culture that expects you to just follow your husband and be subservient?  Just a guess.