Archinect
anchor

Portfolio review

21pieces

Hi everyone, I'm putting my portfolio draft out here for some constructive criticism and feedback... I'm applying to UBC M.Arch and I come from an econ/bio background. Any advice on layout and how interesting the content would be to the admissions team would be very helpful. Its my first time putting something like this together, so thanks in advance! http://issuu.com/ccynthia/docs/cynthiaportfolio_8fc0d0385ade17/1

Dec 16, 14 3:48 am
bugsmetoo

I'm not feeling the font choice or layout of text. For monospace, check for alignment and consistent justification without the center-weighted stuff that looks off and messy. If you make typography part of your design, better nail it.

Is it interesting? Not really. Can't tell anything about you or why architecture instead of photography or fashion design or whatever.

Dec 16, 14 4:32 am  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger

for an eco/bio background- nice content ;)

Dec 16, 14 9:31 am  · 
 · 
Scott Deisher

you have a typo in your first paragraph under photography (you spelled "have" "havev")

Dec 16, 14 9:50 am  · 
 · 
21pieces

@bugsmetoo- Thanks for the formatting advice. As for content, what type of work would they rather see? I was advised not to try and create architecture-related content for the sake of the application since its not my background... So I'm a little lost @BulgarBlogger and @skdeish- Thank you

Dec 16, 14 3:09 pm  · 
 · 
bugsmetoo

The only thing your portfolio tells is that you take photos and make fashion goods. So for someone that needs to assess whether you have spatial thinking skills or a moldable grasp of design needed for graduate school, they would need something more revealing. 

Visually, it looks like a plaintext file. If that's the aesthetic you are going for, the images have to be lasting and strong. 

Dec 16, 14 3:19 pm  · 
 · 
21pieces