Archinect
anchor

Why AIA due does not include FREE AIA documents subscription?

Why AIA due does not include FREE AIA documents subscription?

I am a licensed architect and a licensed real estate broker in California, and also an AIA member and a NAR member (National Association of Realtors) so I can compare the professional organization of these two trades.

The due for my NAR membership and CAR (California Association of Realtors) and my local MLS board (Multiple Listing Service) are paid together, pretty much like the AIA due structure of National, State and Local Chapter. However, my NAR/CAR membership include an incredible benefit: FREE and unlimited use of the Zip form, the electronic documents for EVETRY form you need in a real estate transaction. This benefit alone is worth about $1000, and worthy of the annual dues that I pay for. Besides that, we still have many other benefits, like free phone consultation to CAR board attorney, etc.

My question is: Why AIA due does not include FREE AIA documents subscription?

If AIA can do that, our profession will be much stronger because many more licensed architect will use the AIA FORMS, and I bet the AIA membership increase greatly. That is just my suggestion, I hope someone in AIA is listening.

Dec 8, 14 5:37 pm

From The Greatest Lies Ever Told:

I'm from the AIA and we're here to help you.

Dec 8, 14 6:00 pm  · 
 · 
jitter12

Two numbers: 

AIA National Membership - approximately 83,000

National Association of Realtors Membership - approximately 1.042 million

tldr:  Lawyers cost money.

Dec 8, 14 6:16 pm  · 
 · 
gruen
As miles alludes to - what DOES an AIA membership do for me?
Dec 8, 14 6:46 pm  · 
 · 
Carrera

Had a jaundice eye on the AIA my whole career, but whenever I got squirrelly I always reverted to my Practice Manuals and when I did that things always seemed to run smoother. 

Dec 8, 14 7:07 pm  · 
 · 
jitter nailed it. no surprise, is it, really?
Dec 8, 14 8:38 pm  · 
 · 
gruen