Archinect
anchor

Transfer for Undergraduate

Girlwholovesarchi

Hey Everyone,

I am an international student from Nigeria currently attending the University of Michigan and pursuing a BSC in Architecture. I am not very satisfied with the school, and I am looking to transfer to UPenn Columbia or Cornell. I recently applied to Cornell, Rice, USC, Notre Dame, and Carnegie Mellon and I was either wait listed or rejected. I wanted to know the benefits of a BSC vs a BA, vs Barch in architecture, and I am want to get into the top graduate programs i.e Harvard, Yale, Columbia. Should I stay at the U of M or attempt transferring to the other schools? I am also taking into consideration the pedigrees of the individual schools. (Money is not a factor just looking for the best educational experience)

Dec 1, 14 6:05 pm
Driko
What is it that you don't like and what is it that you like at the other universities you want to go to? I would say stay at u Michigan, Great school. I went through the transfer process and its not worth it. You will most likely end up retaking some studio courses
Dec 1, 14 8:03 pm  · 
 · 
Girlwholovesarchi

Thanks Driko. What school did you transfer into? I am a pre-admit in the school of architecture, but I find that the faculty is extremely occupied and no one has time for any of the lower class men here. Also I was surprised to find that we do not have our own studio spaces as pre-admits. I feel the University as a whole is too big for me, and very much laid back. I'm also not too sure on the degree. A BArch seems like a quicker career path. To be honest am bored with Ann Arbor I just feel the locations of the other schools with the exception of Cornell will suit me more.

Dec 1, 14 9:44 pm  · 
 · 
Driko