Archinect
anchor

are off-the-grid services in demand? (will they be?)

Mthomas1993

its something i've been dancing with for a couple months now as i approach my degree...

with a focus on low-cost, low emissive, self sustaining architecture amidst the modern day eco-hype, it seems like a reasonable business realm to get into..

does anyone think 'off-the-grid', on both a residential and communal scale, has potential to coexist with the ever-growing industrialization on the opposite end of the spectrum? or is it simply a post-modern hippie fad that's going to stay in the backwoods of vermont... 

in either case, are there careers that may exist solely off these services? 

-matt

Dec 1, 14 12:07 am
bugsmetoo

Most post-industrial economies are dependent on services. If you live off the grid, you remove yourself from the system and the basics of modern life. It might be feasible as an experiment if smaller clusters with a mix of professions gather and function in isolation under an informal economy but that's unlikely to work for long.

For one family or person with some weird beliefs and money to blow, sure. They can build some picturesque hut somewhere, drive or fly there each weekend and feel good about being better than the other poor plebeians; or in a brighter picture, buy land and live off a farm that generates money from outside capitalistic ventures. But once people amass, it'll resemble a typical suburban town since they'll demand infrastructure and basic services like gas, water, waste disposal, and likely more power requirements. Rich people aren't going to live and not have all the convenience of modern life and moving poor people out has its own set of obvious problems. Forget the vocal voluntary minority.

Local grids make more sense. Communities and buildings that don't depend on the aging national grid and can enforce/monitor themselves make much more sense than spreading out from people in a bout of paranoia.

Dec 1, 14 1:02 am  · 
 · 
Mthomas1993