Archinect
anchor

communication in architecture

majedeh

good morning everyone,

i am a senior architecture student and busy with my thesis and would love to know different opinion towards my topic or where i can get information regarding this topic. 

My research is about visual communication in architecture and how architecture communicates visually? What are the elements that visually enable architecture to communicate with the people and its context?

Nov 29, 14 3:35 pm
anonitect

"My research is about visual communication in architecture and how architecture communicates visually?"  You tell us.

I'd suggest starting at the library.  Beginning a project by posting on an architecture forum is a lazy way to do schoolwork, and unlikely to be productive.

Nov 29, 14 4:31 pm  · 
 · 
green man

Nice topic.

Nov 29, 14 4:51 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

Starting a project on "communication in architecture" by communicating a request for others to do your work is not a good beginning.  

Better to search the topic via online and physical libraries, read a dozen or so sources, develop a list of questions, and post that here for comments and suggestions.

Nov 29, 14 5:03 pm  · 
 · 
DeTwan

Try starting out with " A Pattern Language", by Christopher Alexander

Nov 29, 14 5:36 pm  · 
 · 
green man

You mustn't enter in the trap of washing your topic only in the architectural field.What eyes see aren't what is really, maybe it is for humans but not in reality.That's why animals don't see what we see.Eyes receive 80% of the external information,imagine their impact in our feelings,moods.For instance each colour inspire a feeling,likewise paintings.

Nov 30, 14 8:28 am  · 
 · 
Zencad

Do you understand how other disciplines approach communication through visual mediums with and without the use of written text? You should look into John Baldessari. 

Dec 2, 14 12:12 am  · 
 · 
green man

Where are you on your work?

Dec 3, 14 3:32 pm  · 
 · 
JEShirley