Archinect
anchor

Best language to learn for architecture

justinritchey17

I am a 1st year architecture student pursuing a BS in architecture. After I graduate I want to get my MArch and an MBA in international business because I want to be an international architect. To get this MBA it requires knowledge in a foreign language and I currently have none. I go to UT San Antonio, so of course Spanish came to mind, however a lot of people in Texas know Spanish and it is their first language so there is no way I could know it better than them. I want my language to stand out at a firm and get me a job at an international firm in Texas, either Dallas, Houston or Austin since San Antonio has no international firms. UTSA offers classes in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Japanese, and Russian. What is the best language to learn for a career as an architect and to get a job and stand out? Thanks for your help and time.

Nov 16, 14 1:45 pm
“””1991”

Latin

Nov 16, 14 3:09 pm  · 
 · 
x-jla

bullshitting

Nov 16, 14 3:19 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

English.

Nov 16, 14 5:07 pm  · 
 · 
LITS4FormZ

Don't waste your credits on language courses. If you want to learn a language then study abroad, intern abroad, travel abroad...I think you see what I'm getting at. A company will value that experience much more than taking a couple 3 credit classes. 

As far as picking one that will help your career...select the language of a place you'd actually like to live. If you're going to be "that guy" you're going to get shipped off to that place if you get work there. 

Oh and don't learn Spanish...especially since you live in Texas.  

Nov 16, 14 6:06 pm  · 
 · 
justinritchey17

Thank you for your reply and advice. I might learn German because I am 75% German and 25% British. I also would like to work at Germany, Switzerland, or Austria. My school also offers study abroad in Berlin and Basel. 

Nov 16, 14 6:59 pm  · 
 · 
rodrigo91c