Archinect
anchor

What are the protocols or methods for testing archituctural designs??

Michael Spark

hi,

i want to know if there is a procedure for testing the designs clarity ,

for example, in airports and after finishing the civil work, a test is arranged by asking a test group to go to different gates,and see if any passengers get lost or can't find their gate.

this tests how well the gate numbers and other direction signs are arranged and how visible they are to people.

i'm a software engineer, and i'm developing a system to test this in early stages (before the civil work starts ), so i want to know if there are standard procedures or protocols for this, any information, links, documentation would be very helpful.

Nov 14, 14 9:40 am

Nope, all we have are a bunch of critics who wish they were architects. 

Keep in mind that some designs are intentionally obtuse, like self-check in at airports, which is clearly designed to make you want to buy an upgrade. 

Nov 14, 14 10:27 am  · 
 · 
x intern

This is a strange question...  You are writing a program to analyze drawings for way finding clarity?  I don't know that computers can accurately predict human behavior but I'm not a software engineer so maybe they can.  The only way I could think to test this would be to build a 3D model and use it like a 1st person video game using real people to try and navigate the space.  Interesting in theory probably expensive in practice.  

Most buildings if built by an experienced designer of the building type are based on the precedent of the building type, meaning a user will have some experience with the type of building and expect things to work in a predicable way.   If you vary from this significantly it will confuse people and then you need signage everywhere.