Archinect
anchor

Post B.ARCH - Industrial Design Advice?

Hey everyone!

I know the threads for graduate school admissions are plenty, but I have a somewhat different question regarding graduate school.

I am currently a fifth-year architecture student and will be graduating in May with my B.Arch from an accredited university. Here's my problem/situation: as much as I love the field of architecture- after 5 years of school I've come to realize that I ultimately want to enter the field of industrial and product design versus strictly that of architectural design. I enjoy designing furniture, objects, and products more than I do buildings. And I know that I definitely want to pursue a master's degree because in the distant future I would like work as a professor.

Now that you're secretly thinking "Get to the point....where is she going with this?!" here's my question: Would pursuing an MFA in Industrial Design or an MID be worth my time and effort? Does anyone have any advice on switching disciplines, or applying to graduate schools such as School of Visual Arts, Pratt, or RISD for Industrial design? Most of my portfolio works are architecture, and not objects. 

I ultimately want to attend a university that enables me to make. One open to research and conceptual design. My university now is slowly advancing in those fields, but in my 5 years here I've felt as if I've been put in a box- restricting my creative approaches to architecture. Everything I design here has to be very literal and- for lack of a better term- realistic (not necessarily saying it's a bad thing....just restricting to someone with crazy ideas like me....I'm constantly being  told I cannot do things because they're not realistic in my conservative state.)

So, if you've read my entire rant/post, I thank you, and I would truly appreciate your thoughts!

Nov 11, 14 11:54 pm
Annieebanana

Hi Laney,