Archinect
anchor

Best math and science class for architecture major

justinritchey17

Hi, I am a first year architecture student and it is about that time of the year to schedule next semesters classes. I go to UT San Antonio and their new curriculum requires two natural science courses and one math course. UTSA used to require precal and physics last year, but now I can chose whatever math class and science class I want. I have a high math placement so I can take from algebra to calc. I also keep in mind that UTSA has gateway after first year and only so many students with the highest GPA will continue to 2nd year. The school has recommended algebra with applications and intro to environmental science I and II. Having taken APES (but no credit) and being good at algebra two in high school, I know I know I will get good grades for my GPA with those classes. However, after I get my BS.Arch at UTSA and if I go to a different grad school they might require physics and calc. I have taken preAP precal and regular algebraic physics in HS and I am good at math but I don't know if I want to take on that big of a load and I have never taken calc before. With all math and science classes in mind what 2 science classes and 1 math class should I take that will benefit architecture the best? Thanks for your input.

Nov 11, 14 5:39 pm
bugsmetoo

Take calculus and physics, at least the introductory courses first. These can be applied to other fields and are not limiting. I found geology to be interesting but you might like the ocean or skies or some other natural science.

Nov 11, 14 10:08 pm  · 
 · 

Overall I would advise to take the easiest classes possible to satisfy the requirements. I do not want you to limit your education, but architecture classes are demanding and you need to dedicate the majority of your time to architecture without being mentally exhausted from your other curriculum.