Archinect
anchor

Advice on Architecture school

justinritchey17

I am currently a first year architecture student at UT San Antonio, working towards my masters and my architecture license. At UTSA their program is a BS.Arch + M.Arch, however UTSA's curriculum is very different  from other schools and their architecture program is barely in the top 100 and ranked last in Texas. I want to stay in San Antonio because this is where I live, so I can stay at home and save money and tuition costs a lot less. But, the courses are dramatically different from UT Austin, the hub of the UT schools. Am I getting what I paid for? When I graduate will I be as prepared as other school graduates or will new grads from Austin and Houston swoop down in San Antonio and take all of the jobs? Will employers hire from UTSA or rather from UT, UH, and Rice? I  would like to stay at San Antonio so should I  get my BS.Arch at UTSA and then go to a different grad school like UT or Rice or should I transfer now? Also should I get a background in something else in the field to help me stand out? At one time I wanted to dual major in civil engineering or construction science and management but it took too long at UTSA. I am a natural designer but I want to learn math, science, sustainability, construction and business as well. I am just not sure if UTSA will provide that. At UT I could take a dual major in a B.Arch and BS. in Architectural Engineering, what I originally thought about, and will provide me all of these skills. Will this be impressive for architecture or engineering firms? This program is 6 years just as long as a M.Arch at UTSA. The only difference is at UTSA I would have a masters, while at UT I would has a B.Arch and knowledge in engineering. Should I stay at UTSA and get a M.Arch there or elsewhere or should I transfer and get a B.Arch and BS. in engineering? Thank you for your time.

Nov 10, 14 2:41 pm
“””1991”

"I am a natural designer"