Archinect
anchor

Job opportunities for a Indian grad (B.Arch) in US

s_haveli

I am a graduate from Indian school, with four years of working experience. Would like to know about the job opportunities in US.

Any comments, suggestions??

Jun 27, 11 1:18 am
sameolddoctor

As you might be aware, there is a serious downturn in the US economy, and there are many more talented, experienced and highly educated people without work. So this is obviously not a good time to enter this market looking for work.

Generally speaking though, it would be next to impossible for you find work here without a US degree. So, the best bet might be to do graduate school here, then look for work. The economy might have improved by then as well.

Jun 27, 11 3:40 am  · 
1  · 
medi

Yes - to add to sameoldoctor's advice, there is very little chance they would sponsor you with an H1B Visa.

I've worked for quite a few international firms here in the US and those who have degrees outside of the US are US citizens.

Jun 27, 11 9:14 am  · 
 · 
s_haveli

Thanx for ur suggestions!

But are there any slight chances of getting in as an intern maybe w/o pay for a while at least?? Just to give it  a try any firms if anyone can suggest?? (architectural/interior design )

Jun 29, 11 12:57 am  · 
 · 
bLAyer

you cant work without a visa. Once they sponsor you for one there has to be a salary which meets prevailing wages.

Jun 29, 11 2:10 am  · 
 · 
muskan

Hey any luck with job.As am sailing in same ship..

Mar 16, 12 11:46 pm  · 
 · 
cipyboy

.. pardon me but, I strongly suggest that you research first (in depth) more about the situation here in the US before throwing out this question. the answer is pretty obvious, and why would you want to work halfway around the globe as an intern without pay anyway,  if I may ask?

Mar 22, 12 11:43 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

Don't do it  - it does not make any sense - it barely makes sense for us U.S. graduates

Mar 23, 12 12:19 pm  · 
 · 
cipyboy

like what zenakis said