Archinect
anchor

Working in Buenos Aires

a4102363

Hello all,

I am a British architect who is moving from London to BA next year. My girlfriend has been offered a job there (hence the move), and now I need to find a job!

I know the economy is in a bad state and I am very aware that finding a job wont be easy, but I do need to try. I am 3 years post full RIBA qualification. My Spanish is getting there although I am still only beginner/intermediate. I am however learning intensely and plan to fully conversational by the time I arrive in BA (and hopefully fluent by the time I leave).

Any advice about where to look for jobs, who to apply to, what salary I can expect, whether my qualifications will mean anything over there etc etc would be massively appreciated.

Thanks,

Al 

Nov 5, 14 11:41 am
midlander

Are Brits welcome in Argentina? Didn't the two countries fight a nasty little war not long ago, one which didn't go well for Argentina... Or did they agree to forgive and forget after the junta got dumped?

No, I guess they didn't.

Nov 5, 14 12:05 pm  · 
 · 
a4102363

Surely all Argentinians can't hate all Brits......can they?

Nov 7, 14 12:01 pm  · 
 · 
Alternative

Argentines are, rather strangely, still very into "their" Malvinas.

setting that aside, the country is yet again in default. The economy is a disaster. Have you thought about teaching English instead?

Nov 7, 14 12:15 pm  · 
 · 
a4102363

No not really. I don't really want to take career break as I am very interested in learning how architecture functions in other counties. I have worked overseas before and I found the whole experience was very informative.  

Although I would prefer a paid position, I could probably survive from my savings and the rental income from my flat in London. Perhaps charity work is more realistic.

Can anyone recommend any good construction/building/architecture charities operating in BA?

Nov 11, 14 12:06 pm  · 
 · 
sam goods