Archinect
anchor

Applying to MArch programs in Canada - Non-Design Background - Help!

rau5

Thank you for taking the time to read this post and any advice or input is very much appreciated. 

I have taken a interest in Architecture in the last couple of months and have been thinking about it seriously as a career choice. I have been doing lots of research and am aware that the profession is often over romanticized, the pay is not so great starting out, and that the industry cyclical. Weighing these factors, I am still not deterred. I think the work that architects do and the value that they add to society makes the the career worthwhile. 

---------Background-----------------

I am 24 years old and live and work in Toronto. I graduated from York University 2 years ago with a degree in Business and Society specializing in the environment. The degree was very well rounded and I learned a lot about social, environmental, political problems, history, economics, capitalist structure ex. I have always been creative and needed to channel this energy so I loaded up on electives that would allowed me to do that. I took courses like Flamenco Guitar, Acting, Greek Mythology and film studies. 

I did fairly well and made the Dean's list in my last year. My overall average for the last year sits between a B+/A- and my last two years put me roughly at a B+. 

-------Fast-Track------------

After I graduated I did some soul searching for a year and looked into a variety of different Masters programs. After little success of finding something that fit I decided it would be best to work for a bit. I got a job with a renewable energy developer that develops solar energy programs in Ontario. In a project coordinator role, I learned a bit about zoning, planning, construction, municipal relations, site design ex. However I still could not satisfy my creative itch.