Archinect
anchor

design service fees

woodshop

Hello all!

(Preface : I just wrote this whole post and accidentally deleted it... I feel like it always sounds less intelligible the second time around...) 

I am new to this forum and community, so please forgive me if this information can be found elsewhere.

Just some background prior to my inquiry... I graduated a few years ago with a B. Arch and have been working at a firm in Los Angeles for the last two. I am currently in the process of taking my exams now that I have completely the IDP requirements, but am probably 6-12 months away from licensure.

A friend has asked me to help out with a commercial TI and provide design services. As a non-licensed designer, I know that I cannot accept responsibility for construction documents and the life-safety of the project. Given my status, I was going to offer initial services (programming, schematic design, design development), but was going to suggest that he hire a structural engineer to provide construction documents and details. Is this a feasible way to move forward?

I am also curious about fees for design services. My firm typically charges 10% of the total construction cost of a project for full-architetural services. Obviously, the scope of work that I would be providing would be quite a bit more limited. Are there any general rules of thumb when it comes to setting rates for design?

I don't know many people who are licensed and practicing, so I am hoping that someone on here can provide some insight. Any advise for a future-architect would be greatly appreciate!

Thanks for taking the time to read.

Nov 2, 14 4:56 pm
midlander

What kind of firm are you at that you don't know anyone licensed and practicing? That basically is the whole point of IDP.

I hate to neglect your original question but I've never done tenant interiors so couldn't say what's appropriate. What is your friend's role in this work?

Nov 2, 14 9:04 pm  · 
 · 
chigurh