Archinect
anchor

Which job would you choose?

kayellsee

I am a recent graduate looking to accept my first full-time architecture position.  I have the problem (a good problem) of choosing between two very different jobs - and I am completely torn as to which one to choose.  If you had to choose between these two jobs, which would you choose and why?  

Background:

I have worked with Firm A for the past three years part and full-time.  I love everyone I work with, and they know they can trust me with various architecture tasks.  I knew I had a secure, well-paying position with them once I graduated.  However, the workload has been very slow for the past 6 months and I'm worried because I know every other firm in the area is booming with work.  I decided to interview with other companies to see what my options were, and I landed a job with an award-winning local firm.  They do a variety of projects and it would be a great resume-builder.  I know this choice may seem easy to some (go with the exciting choice, definitely!), but I do like going into a low-level stress work environment and leaving at the same reasonable time every day.  My current job with Firm A is something that I know I like (minus being bored at times) while the offer from Firm B is an exciting possibility, but it will likely bring me more stress.  Truly, I don't believe there is a "bad" choice, but these are two totally different options.

Firm A (safe):

• Corporate
  • Great benefits, 401k eligible 
  • 3 weeks vacation / sick days, accrued immediately after start date
  • 4.5 day work-week, 40-43 hrs/week average
  • Small architecture group (4 architects)
  • I have interned with this company for the past two years during summers and school semesters - the architecture group knows how I work and they trust me with different types of tasks
  • Low stress, mostly mundane work, commercial and corporate clients
  • Doesn't push my creativity
  • Work is slow, but job is secure