Archinect
anchor

3 Q's about your job

Just a curious poll. Things are a little murky out there still and you are lucky to be employed and to be employed well.  I'm just wondering what' everyone's situation is.

How long did it take you to find it?

In what city?

How much professional experience did you have at the time?

Oct 17, 14 6:07 pm
Hathor
I graduated with my Masters in April 2014. It took 4 months to get a job offer. I had sent out about 6 portfolios/applications. I had 2 strong responses back, with another in the works when accepted the job I have. I have my Masters in Arch, a diploma in architectural technology, LEED AP, 8+ years in various forms of carpentry and building etc.

I got a job with a company that was my #1 choice. I love their projects and their ethics. It's not a big firm only about 9 people. It's not a lot of money, but I have never worked for the money. I do what I do because I love doing it.
Oct 17, 14 9:48 pm  · 
 · 
sensation

I received my Masters in May 2014 and it took me two months to get a job in NYC. I obviously chose the best offer and this is my first professional experience. I've interned for five years (different firms) during undergrad though.

Oct 21, 14 7:11 pm  · 
 · 
mightyaa

:)

It found me.  Until recently, I've never created a resume, never interviewed.  In '91 my Dad split (nasty split) from his former partners and founded his new firm.  Called me to come in and draft.  Never left.

Experience:  Graduated college in '91 the same year he split.