Archinect
anchor

Bsc. Econ applying to UBC/UT/Berkeley MArch

21pieces

I have a BSc in Resource Economics from UBC. I'm applying to the MArch because I think I'd be better at addressing social issues through my creative talents and it'd be more rewarding than a career in economics. 

I come from such a different background (not fine arts) and I haven't come across any people in my situation. I plan to explain in my letter of intent how my previous studies in land economics/ resource conservation policies tie into an architecture program that focuses on sustainability/ social impact.

But I am unsure what the expectations would be for my portfolio, as I do not have experience doing architectural drawings/ modelling (although I've researched a bit about it).

Out of my artistic hobbies, I'm planning to focus the most on my 'fashion design' work-- I make original clothes for myself. I also do amateur photography (http://cynthiachouphotography.tumblr.com/) and have several sketchbooks of paintings/drawings, plus a couple ceramics projects. I also plan to demonstrate my skills in InDesign through the portfolio layout. 

Any suggestions on what I should emphasize in my portfolio, or how to strengthen my application?? Also any advice on which school (UBC, U of T and Berkeley) is best for job prospects would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Oct 16, 14 9:56 am
bugsmetoo

Don't conflate design with art. The problem with some "artistic" hobbies, e.g. photography, drawing, painting, is that none of these solve problems. That's why they belong in the realm of art, subjective and usually emotionally charged. You can't gauge a person by their photographic eye because for all anyone knows, it might have been a random shot or pure luck from a burst sequence. Composition, exposure, subject, these elements showcase skill and understanding of space but still, it mostly ignores the process of creating a viable solution.