Archinect
anchor

First job, but dissatisfied with the projects..

sims1216

Hi all,

i'm a recent graduate in architecture who got a job in the beginning of this year.

My biggest concern is about projects i've been involved in.

The projects in my office are mostly interior project. Tendency is much higher than i had expected..

I know it's really important to experience interior project, since i can learn detailed space planning and practicality. In interior projects, i do learn lots of thing which i couldn't learn in 100% architectural project.

BUT, my goal is firm. I wanna be an architect.

I'm little bit worried about my current situation in terms of career planning.

the projects i'm doing in this office will definitely affect my next career, regardless of the time i'm employed here. But it's not easy to leave this office now i think..

Should I stay here and wait for the future possibility?

Or just reset the career?

Oct 14, 14 6:37 pm
Token AE

I know plenty of architects that have transferred fluidly between interior architecture and design/ project architect roles. They aren't mutually exclusive skills.

On another note- Welcome to the real world, where not everything is an intellectually stimulating academic exercise.

Enjoy the stimulating projects when you get them, but realize that depending on the firm, you may have to take care of dull 'bread and butter' work if you're looking for steady employment.

If you want something a little riskier, you may be able to find a more theoretical firm- but realize that the likelihood of being unemployed is far higher in a recession with these.

Personally, many of my colleagues and myself find happiness and appreciate the stability of residing somewhere in between the two extremes.

Oct 14, 14 7:10 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

expect to go back and forth between interior and core+shell stuff - In fact I am now working with 3 people with interior arch degrees working as architects doing structural stuff.