Archinect
anchor

For M.Arch program; UIC,IIT or SAIC? HELP!

Hi guys! 

I have a Bachelor's degree in Environmental Design and I want to do a Master's degree in architecture, specifically in Chicago because I love the city. There are 3 schools of architecture there. 
Among UIC, IIT and SAIC, which college is best in the M.Arch program? 
I'm looking for a good university, a good program and a low tuition or otherwise give financial aid. So far UIC its my first option because it's public, but I really have doubts because in the rankings appears that SAIC's best university. 

HELP please and thanks! :)

Oct 14, 14 2:27 am
mespellrong

They are all apples and oranges. IIT will make you a strong technician but is stifling if you are a free spirit. UIC is affordable and well rounded, but many graduates say that it is easy to slip through the cracks and just pass through. SAIC is great if you are deeply creative and very self motivated, but t isn't very helpful if you have a real deficit you need to address. Michigan is academic; Notre Dame is Classical.

At the end of the day, the question is what kind of architect do you want to be?

Oct 14, 14 9:42 pm  · 
 · 
apapaz
I'd say IIT. Take a tour of each program and feel it out because that's where you are going to spend most of your time working on projects
Oct 15, 14 12:16 pm  · 
 · 
midlander

IIT offers a lot of scholarships for promising students - don't assume you'll be paying full tuition. Talk to the school if you're interested. If you plan to work in Chicago their program is well respected and has connections to most of the big / interesting offices in the city.

That said I worked with some alumni from UIC too and they seemed satisfied with their education. It had a reputation for being more oriented towards theory and socially-progressive practice a few years back - not sure about now. I never knew anyone from the SAIC who worked as an architect - maybe because their program is newer.

Oct 15, 14 10:40 pm  · 
 ·