Archinect
anchor

Applying for MLA/M.Arch - Advice Appreciated

holleli

Hello,

I am in the beginning stages of applying for grad schools and I would appreciate some advice about whether or not pursuing an MLA or M.Arch at this time would be a good idea for me. I know it's my decision ultimately, but I want to know what you all think.

I graduated this last May (2014) from the University of Arkansas with a BS in Environmental Science and a minor in sustainability. My overall GPA post-graduation is a 3.95, my (new scale) GRE scores are 166 verbal and 163 quantitative. I am currently looking at applying to BS Civil Engineering programs and the MS Environmental Engineering program at my alma mater since it is one of the few accredited programs of its kind. I am also looking at applying to MLA and M.Arch programs, preferably at schools that have both 3+ MLA and 3/3.5+ M.Arch options for people like me without arch degrees. 

I have a scientific background but took classes across a wide variety of departments. My junior year I got very interested in art and architecture and my interest has only grown since then. I am naturally very logical and good with science but also artistic. My artistic side has been late in blooming though. My freshman year I took art lecture and my junior year I took architecture lecture and had a blast. The summer after that, I took a fundamentals of drawing class and American landscape painting art history course. My senior year I interned at a local non-profit art gallery as a promotion & publicity person. I haven't drawn a ton since my drawing class but have on and off and have started developing my photography and collage skills as well.