Archinect
anchor

Not sure if I should take another year off before grad school

proximity

So I graduated with a BS.Arch this past spring and I made a last minute decision to take a year off grad school for a few reasons. I'm again in a position where I'm not sure if I want to take a year off grad school.

A major reason I didn't last year was that my portfolio wasn't nearly ready. I completed one during the spring for job apps, but it isn't at all grad school worthy. I'm working on my grad school portfolio right now, which means editing and adding to my work, including basically redoing my project last semester. I can have it ready by Dec 15th I think but I'll have to work a lot on it.

The major reason I'm considering taking a year off right now, though, is my current job. I got a job rough framing houses with a brand new framing company. My boss is essentially my age and super ambitious. He knows that I have an architecture degree and he wants me to be a project manager as well as start making construction documents for projects as well as doing the designing (it's mostly renovations right now). This goes without saying but it's a huge opportunity for me to be able to put on my resume that I was essentially the "lead architect" for a residential construction company. I know that's kind of lofty for me to say, but it's basically true. To be able to do this for more than until next fall (and winter is the slow time so it won't really pick up until the spring) would be very cool.