Archinect
anchor

H1B Visa sponsorship for a graduate-to-be architecture student in Korea

kchoi616

I am currently a student studying architecture in korea (5-year program) and a graduate-to-be next year in February.

What are the chances of me getting sponsored for the H1B visa by an architecture firm in the US?

I have lived in the States for 11 years prior to my return to korea, so my fluency in English is obviously not a problem. However, I do understand that since i'm a korean citizen (no dual citizenship or greencard), the greatest challenge for me to land a job in the US is dealing with my legal status as a foreigner. So, it probably boils down to whether the firm is willing (or even capable) of sponsoring my working visa.

I did attend the Univ. of Maryland for two years prior to my transfer to a korean university, so I do have experience studying in the US. I do have a solid portfolio and have won 2nd place at an international design competition (hosted by CTBUH), so I believe I have the skills and abilities to impress (as a student, of course). However, I'll be graduating in a foreign country and have no previous work experience, so I'm not sure how seriously those firms will even consider my portfolio and capabilities. 

I have yet to send out portfolios, because I want to understand if it's even worth the trouble.

Anyway, if anyone has been through a similar situation or can shed light on the subject, please let me know. Thanks!

Oct 10, 14 1:03 pm
gwharton

How do you feel about being a slave?

http://www.pagunblog.com/2011/12/20/the-h1b-our-modern-worlds-indentured-servitude/

Oct 10, 14 1:14 pm  · 
 · 
kchoi616

So this pertains to all foreign architects, regardless of past job experiences and whatnot? meh.. kinda guessed it but oh well

Oct 10, 14 9:09 pm  · 
 · 
midlander